Sustainable Design

Sustainable design is above all a mindset, which takes on its full importance during the design phase, but also throughout development.

Many platforms today make it easy to create websites for a small amount of money or even "for free", but optimization is often lacking to obtain an effective result, and above all a lightweight and fast website. It is therefore a considerable advantage to have control over the complete development of a website because it allows access to all stages of design. Most of these tools have evolved well today, and allow more freedom in the development of a site, but it is still not comparable to a complete coding.

Here are some basic principles when choosing to develop with this eco-design approach:

  • Go to the essential, quantify the real needs
  • Promote a simple, clean design adapted to the web, for mobile and desktop
  • Optimize interactions, the weight of the website and its content
  • Choose hosting as close as possible to your customers, if possible in so-called "clean" centers

Now, you are probably thinking that an sustainable designed website is a website without design, which is limited to information content. Not exactly, we can achieve everything, as long as we keep a spirit of optimization. The biggest factor in your website's environmental impact is how long a user will spend searching for the information they are looking for.

earth hand

Example of a simple feature, for users concerned about the energy consumption of their screens. A dark mode can be activated and the choice will be saved for a future visit.

The impact of the Web

Evolution
Evolution since 2010 - Green IT Illustrations -{' '} https://www.greenit.fr/etude-empreinte-environnementale-du-numerique-mondial/

It's a reality, every day we have more applications and websites which bring more servers and therefore an increasing consumption of energy to supply them (taking into account all the connected objects for which the growth is exponential).

light bulb earth

More than 10% of the globe electrical power is used to power the servers that provide applications and web pages. And this number is increasing every year.

On the scale of a website, where for example 1000 visitors access it every month, we can say that the impact is not noticeable. But the more sustainable design website are made, the greater the impact will be when it comes to reducing the environmental footprint.

No need to go to the extreme by choosing to do without every technologies provided to us today, you just have to design responsibly. It is important to limit flows between servers when possible. This is an approach that I have personally chosen in my development.

Choose the best suited technologies

This is the first stage of development, for sustainable design or not. We will not necessarily use the same technologies for a showcase web site, blog or a e-commerce website.

The main idea is to use robust technologies that last over time, and which are able to work with limited connections. It's not a regression in terms of technology, we bring development back to the base of what our web browser understands. And very often this leads to a very functional and fast site, which a user can only appreciate.

Here, I design websites suited to the client needs while confronting the client on the possible challenges of an eco-designed website. Each element is taken into account, from the graphic charter to the illustrations and the content, but also the hosting of your project.

earth leaf

The goal is a high-performance website that respects the planet. We reduce the computing power needed on both sides of the network.

This website is hosted Green - checked by thegreenwebfoundation.org

Ecoconception

L'écoconception est avant tout un état d'esprit, qui prend toute son importance lors de la phase de conception, mais aussi tout au long du développement.

Beaucoup de plateformes permettent aujourd'hui de créer des sites web facilement pour peu d'argent voire "gratuitement", mais il manque bien souvent de l'optimisation pour obtenir un résultat efficace, et surtout un site léger et rapide. C'est donc un avantage considérable d'avoir la main sur le développement complet d'un site car cela permet d'accéder à tous les étages de conception. La plupart de ces outils ont bien évolué aujourd'hui, et permettent plus de liberté dans le développement d'un site, mais ce n'est toujours pas comparable à un codage complet.

Voici quelques principes de bases lorsqu'on choisit de développer avec cette demarche d'écoconception :

  • Aller à l'essentiel, quantifier le réel besoin
  • Favoriser un design simple, épuré et adapté au web, pour mobile et bureau
  • Optimiser les interactions, le poids du site et son contenu
  • Choisir un hébergement au plus proche de vos clients, si possible dans des centres dits "propres"

Maintenant, vous vous dites surement qu'un site éco-conçu, c'est un site sans design, qui se limite au contenu d'information. Pas exactement, on peut tout réaliser, du moment que l'on garde un esprit d'optimisation. Le facteur le plus important pour l'empreinte environnementale de votre site réside dans le temps que va passer un utilisateur à chercher les informations qu'il souhaite sur votre site.

Exemple d'une fonctionnalité simple, pour les utilisateurs soucieux de la consommation énergetique de leurs écrans ayant activé le mode sombre, ce site sera automatiquement affiché dans ce mode.

Le web pollue

evolution
Evolution depuis 2010 - Illustration Green IT - https://www.greenit.fr/etude-empreinte-environnementale-du-numerique-mondial/

C'est une réalité, nous avons tous les jours plus d'applications et de sites web qui amènent plus de serveurs et donc une consommation croissante d'énergie pour les alimenter (en prenant en compte tous les objets connectés pour qui la croissance est exponentielle).

Plus de 10% de l'électricité mondiale est utilisée pour alimenter les serveurs qui fournissent les applications et pages web. Et ce chiffre augmente tous les ans

A l'échelle d'un site internet, où par exemple 1000 visiteurs y accèdent tous les mois, on peut se dire que l'impact est négligeable. Mais plus il existera de sites éco-conçus, plus l'impact sera important quand à la réduction de l'empreinte environnementale.

Nul besoin d'aller à l'extrême en choisissant de se passer de tout ce qui existe aujourd'hui, il faut simplement concevoir de façon responsable. Il est important de limiter les flux entre les serveurs lorsque cela est possible. C'est une approche que j'ai personnellement choisie dans mon développement.

Choisir la technologie adaptée

C'est la première étape d'un développement, éco-conçu ou non d'ailleurs. On ne développera pas forcement un site vitrine, blog ou e-commerce avec les mêmes technologies.

L'idée principale est d'utiliser des technologies robustes qui perdurent dans le temps, et qui sont capables de fonctionner avec des connexions limitées. Ce n'est pas une régression en terme de technologie, on ramène le développement à la base de ce que notre navigateur web comprend. Et bien souvent cela amène à un site très fonctionnel et rapide, ce qu'un utilisateur ne peut qu'apprécier.

Ici, je conçois des sites adaptés au besoin tout en confrontant le client sur les éventuels enjeux d'un site éco-conçu. Chaque élément est pris en compte, de la charte graphique jusqu'aux illustrations et au contenu, mais aussi l'hebergement de votre site.

L'objectif étant un site performant qui respecte la planète. On réduit la puissance informatique nécessaire des deux côtés du réseau